What's new

AoS $40 Kit Brush Really That Bad?

Hey I've been reading on the threads that AoS brush that comes with the $40 kit is garbage and will only last for two weeks. I find that it does the job, doesn't shed and lathers creams really well. I have been using this brush for almost 4 months now. Is there something I'm missing? Granted this is my second brush and my first was a boar bristle brush so I might be ignorant on the intricacies of different brushes but I think the AoS brush performs pretty decently.

I would just like to know more in depth of why I might need to get a better brush...

To say that it is complete garbage is definitely an exaggeration, however there are brushes that are much better. What you get with a top quality brush is soft fur that retains heat and water, and requires much less work to build a more luxurious lather.

Boar brushes aren't nearly so bad as one might think from reading the posts, but undoubtedly a fine grade of badger hair is not only more pleasurable, but also functionally better.

I don't know about the quality of an AOS boar brush specifically, but I do know that I wouldn't pay $40 for one with all the other options available.

I don't know about the quality of an AOS boar brush specifically, but I do know that I wouldn't pay $40 for one with all the other options available.

I wouldn't either, I get it on sale for like $20, seemed like a decent price for a brush and a couple of samples. Also, it wasn't an AOS boar brush, I believe it was a Vulfix.

I got mine for $10 from Costco and I wish I had bought the C&E Best insted... though I haven't used the C&E Best so if I had my opinion may be better.

Anyways, the quality of the AoS Brush is pretty low and it losses hairs pretty steadily. Still it beats a boar hair at $10...

the AOs starter kit was my intro into wetshaving.
the brush is fine as part of the kit, I wouldn't pay much for one by itself.
works fine for creams, it was harder to use w/ soaps