What's new

Must haves from Crabtree & Evelyn?

I'm new to wetshaving and have only tried a vulfix brush, merkur 1904, and a fatboy. I've tried CO Bigalow cream, a classic shaving soap and Aqua Velva ice balm. I live nowhere near a Crabtree and Eveyln but I'm going to Houston tomorrow and staying at the Galleria where they have one. Is there anything that I should absolutely pick up and try? I'm looking at their traveling shaving brush as I plan on doing more and more of that. Are they any good? Any good pre-shaves?

Thanks

Yes, pick up a C&E Best Badger Brush. I started with a Vulfix and I found the C&E BBB to be better all around everyday brush. It works really well with both creams and soaps (the Vulfix is just to floppy for soaps). The handle on the C&E brush is, in my opinion, its only fault; it is a bit on the small side.

I have trouble deciding which scent is best--Sienna, Sandlewood, or Nomad. So I rotate. Judging from the levels of cream left in the jars, I'd have to say that Sienna is the winner.

I think there sienna line is there smoothest shave , and the scent isn't that bad either . Although there new lime scent is very very nice .

Get one of those nifty key things that goes on the bottom of toothpaste, shave cream, etc tubes and makes sure you use every last drop. It's great :)

Plus to all the above, with some additional info:

1. If you buy C&E's natural aftershave balm in a tube, you'll get the key free (check the box to be sure it's inside). I like the balm - it's light and supposed to be "unscented", but I detect a very faint, nice citrus scent.

2. All the C&E shaving products are good. Some have said that the scent of Nomad is a little off-putting at first, but they eventually like it.

3. If you're not sure, ask for samples. Most C&E stores are fine with samples.

My favourite product is the ASB - Nomad or Sandalwood.

The creams are decent, the Sweet Almond is my favourite in terms of shaving properties - smells more floral than almond.