What's new

Do you grate your soap?

I bought some Mystic Water shaving soap and they recommend grating the puck. Then you load the flakes or small pieces back into the container, pushing down firmly to eliminate any gap between the soap and sides of the container. This makes sense to me, as I like to put hot water onto the top of the puck while my brush soaks in the bowl. Not having a gap between the soap and container will keep the water on top of the puck, allowing it to "bloom". And most pucks that come in containers are slightly smaller than the container. I tried it and I like it. Does anyone else here do this? I am new to making my own lather and any tips or tricks will be appreciated.

The MWF puck is a fair bit smaller than their own ceramic bowl, but after about 30 consecutive uses I've noticed that it fills the bowl right up to the edge now.

Some years ago I put a Haslinger puck into a ramekin that was quite a lot larger, and found an advantage to doing this - no doughnut hole as you get towards the end of the soap. When swishing your brush around on top of the puck it picks up soap from the edges as well as the top.

Sorry, I got away from soap grating a bit there. I have grated sticks in the past and put them into small bowls though - Palmolive and Arko.

It can be useful sometimes, let's say you have two smaller pucks that together will fill a container. Or you want to convert a soap stick to fit better in a container.

Lately, I have been using the "loading bowl" technique. I still face lather, but take a small amount of soap from the main container to press into the bottom of a loading bowl. The damp brush is loaded with soap in the bowl to make a paste, then the paste is used to build a lather on the face. This technique keeps the original soap in the container pristine. A small amount of soap is scooped out with a plastic spatula when needed.