What's new

Your thoughts on muhle r89?

Hey all. I am a newbie shopping for 2nd razor I have a Merkur 34c I am looking at the muhle r89 grande. What do you think? Anyone used this razor?

I haven't personally used a 34c but it looks quite similar to the r89. Why don't you get a different style of razor for your second one, like an open comb?

Anyway, the r89 is a great razor head (this is also the one used by Edwin Jagger). It is very forgiving and gentle. You can pull it through your stubble without much thought on what you're doing. You need a more aggressive blade to get a really close shave with it.
The Grande handle is quite convenient for large hands. Personally I like the standard size better, even though I don't have the smallest hands myself, but that's just my weird preference.

The production quality of Mühle is by far superior to Merkur. You will definitely enjoy this razor even if I assume it's not that different to the one you already have.

Thanks for the input. I have thought about going open comb or slant bar just for something different. Although I'm not sure what the benifits would be to those styles. Guess I'll have to try em and see. Oh darn more razors to buy :)

This razor has the same head as the Edwin Jagger De89 as stated above, which gets great reviews here, although I'm not a huge fan since I always get irritation when using it. I prefer the vintage Gillettes, you can try a bunch of styles very cheaply, and they seem to be more user-friendly, at least in my hands they are.

I love Muhle in general. I have tried something of everything they make.

For me, the grande handle was not really my favorite. The regular R89 is just my goldilocks of handle design. (It is very similar to the EJ DE89). It is a very mild razor, but one of my go to razors. OC when the growth is thick!

I have thought about going open comb or slant bar just for something different. Although I'm not sure what the benifits would be to those styles.