What's new

Your Shaving Year in Review - 2010

1. Any very special acquisitions this year?

- I was first tipped off to DE shaving through Art of Manliness, so my special acquisitions would include everything related to this art.

2. Are you new or returned to DE or straight razor shaving this year?

- I started DE shaving in September of this year.

3. Did you bring others into the light?

- Yes. I work at a university so I enlisted the help of some men who have more experience than myself and created a seminar on "Old School" shaving. Several men said that they intended to use their Christmas money (and free time during break) to join the community. The interest in the seminar was strong enough that we have been asked to provide another session in the spring semester.

4. Did you try some new products or techniques that really impressed you?

- Since I'm new to this style of shaving, everything is basically new. The most significant technique has been mapping my face and adapting my shave accordingly. With the old cartridges, I just shaved north to south and then south to north. By actually caring about my facial map, the quality of shave has significantly improved.

5. After giving blade shaving a try, did you return to cartridges?

- I still have some unused cartridge refills in my cabinet, and I'll probably keep them in case I need to shave in a hurry. However, I haven't touched that junk since September and hope to avoid it as much as possible.

6. Did you set/meet any shaving goals for the year, or set new ones for next year?

- Ultimately, I want to "graduate" to a straight razor, but I'm not in a hurry. I want to enjoy the safety razor without feeling rushed in the same way that a man chooses to savor each bite of his steak instead of racing through his meal. I do plan on using soaps next year, and once I have worked through my blade sample pack, I hope to have my blade selection determined or at least narrowed down to a few preferable blades.