What's new

Which blade for very heavy beard?

Hey guys, I am new to the DE shaving concept and at 40 years old is quite funny! I have been using gillette mach 3 for years and years but as you all know it becomes pretty expensive.

I was wondering what the best blade would be for a 34C Merkur razor? I have tested a few, the most recent being Gillette Silver Blue. I am finding that the Gillette cartridge actually shaved closer for me, particularly as I could whip it around and also shave up against the grain very easily.

I can do the same with the DE razor but the whole process takes so much longer and you have to be so much more careful. Just wondering what the benefit is other than cost of blades, or is that it?

Should I be using other blades?

Thanks!

I would also recommend trying a Feather. The Merkur is mild enough that you probably won't get into trouble as long as you take it slow and carefully.

Welcome to B&B. Feathers are good blades. Others I would recommend are Gillette Nacets and Silver Blues, which are a bit smoother than Feather, in my opinion.

Edit: sorry, just realized you tried the Silver Blue. Keep in mind that you will likely get a better shave as your technique improves.

Sent via mobile

Another vote for Feathers. I have a fairly rough, stubbly beard and I just find Feathers give me a smoother, closer shave. While Feathers are not the high risk adventure that they are often made out to be (you can cut yourself by looking at the package), they are sharper than most (all?) DEs. When I tried early on in my DE adventure, I liked Feathers but got too many weepers/nicks. But now, I use nothing else. Just depends where you are in your learning curve. At a minimum, pick up a pack and try now. If you don't get good results, try again in 6 months.