What's new

What do I age first?

My Bespoke Box for February arrived today! I chose the "Aged" box. The box includes a pint sized bottle with stopper, two gorgeous Sempli Rocks glasses, and two toasted oak staves. I was thinking of starting off aging some white dog, but the traditional aged gin martini they suggest in the documentation sounds pretty intriguing.

Anyone out there have any experience with short duration aging or any suggestions as to a spirt to try? I'm not expecting anything to taste like Balvenie 21, but should be fun experimenting.

$age.jpg

Cheers,
JW

I have no experience whatsoever with this and truthfully wasn't aware that this option existed. It should be fun though. Keep us posted as to your results. I like your idea of trying to add some character to your White Dog. Good luck with your adventure!

First, those glasses look really cool.

FWIW, my vote goes to the White Dog. Mostly because the majority of that stuff doesn't taste very good. Perhaps this would allow you to enjoy it vs throwing it out.

Are the staves only good for one "aging"? I wonder how much additional staves are. Could be fun to experiment with aging beers this way.....

First, those glasses look really cool.

FWIW, my vote goes to the White Dog. Mostly because the majority of that stuff doesn't taste very good. Perhaps this would allow you to enjoy it vs throwing it out.

Are the staves only good for one "aging"? I wonder how much additional staves are. Could be fun to experiment with aging beers this way.....

Additional staves are $7 for two on Bespoke. Might be able to find them cheaper somewhere else. I haven't looked yet.