What's new

TWSBI 580 opinions

hey everyone, does anyone here have the TWSBI 580 and what do you think of it? i got some money to pick a couple gifts for myself and might get that pen.

I like my 580. I bought it with a B and later had it stubbed. Have had for two years and I still use it almost daily. I did have to have the cap replaced this past September because it cracked at the clip.

I have no experience with the 580 but I do have a TWSBI Eco and I really enjoy using it. Personally I like the looks of the 580 but I'm not sure for me if I would spend the money on one with the deals to be had on Japanese pens on Amazon but that is just me. I say if you like it and you have the money to spend on it then buy it and enjoy it :thumbup1:

I've had a 580 for almost 2 years now. I've replaced the feeder sleeve twice. The first time the pen leaked where the nib unit joined the barrel. That happened a couple of weeks after the pen fell onto a concrete floor with the cap on. I'm not completely sure that the fall caused the leak since the leak didn't rear it's ugly head until later. The second time the end of the feeder sleeve broke clean off right at the end of the section for no apparent reason (no falls or drops or anything like that). It writes very well, but it's also an annoying pen. Ink gets under the metal collar at the end of the section during filling, and when the pen is cleaned, I need to take the nib unit off and clean the ink out of that ring.

Mine is currently in good working order, so I use it from time to time. But if it breaks down again, it will likely hit the trash can. For 50 bucks, it's a decent writing pen with a lot of nice features, but it's also prone to needing replacement parts. So many other pens out there don't have that problem.

Also, the 580 is pretty large and doesn't fit into a shirt pocket as well as most of my other pens (Pelikan M200's, Lamy 2000, Pilot Prera, plus a few others).