What's new

Tried the Trac II / G II for once

Decided to have a go with the Trac II / GII I have lying around as a back up system. I have the Feather handle with some blades that came with it.
Used Palmolive cream and the Omega 10098. Made the lather in my Ben and Jerry bowl. The bowl seemd to be made for the brush. Got a very nice shave, not BBS (thank God :biggrin:), with hardly any irritation. At least I know now that the back up system is working...

Last edited:
GII is a wonderful shaver...fixed head it will deliver the more similar to a DE shave around. BBS for me.:rolleyes:

Although I have been wetshaving for more than 30 years now, I have always used a cartridge razor to do it. I started out with the Trac II, moved on to the Atra when it come out, and have been using the Mach 3 for about 10 years now. I have always managed to get at least a DFS with all of them, probably due to my good prep and the use of a badger brush and quality SC, and I always thought that I managed to do it with a minimum of irritation and razor burn.

Lately (i.e. since I've found B&B), I've been wondering about "going retro" while still using a cart razor, since the price of M3 carts is absolutely obscene - despite me being a major cheapskate and using a single M3 cart for a whole month's worth of shaving.

When I read here about the Bump Fighter razor/Personna twin cart solution available from WallyWorld for <$7.00 for the complete setup with 10 carts, my interest was piqued, so last week I finally pulled the trigger. My cheapskate self loved the idea of shaving with a razor that cost $.35 instead of $3.00 per cartridge, and the total investment was minimal - worst case would be that I'd gain some info about what didn't work for me.