What's new

Shaving over scaring

Hey folks,

So I'm new to SR shaving.

I have a few scars on my face which at the moment it go over with an electric pre SR.

I was hoping someone with scarring or moles etc etc might provide some technique advice for shaving over scars?

P.s Ive tried a couple of times and have made sacrifices to the blood god.

I have both moles and scars. Luckily the moles on my face are the smooth edged kind that raise as a rolling hill rather than a square sided plateau. I have some scars as well. I have some nerve damage that causes weird tingly toe curling spasms occasionally. Guess which one bothers me most? :) I go very lightly. I stretch the skin in a certain direction. I approach the obstacle with the blade from a certain direction and at a certain angle. These certain directions, angles and what not are all different for each person and obstacle I am thinking. And I found them by, you guessed it, trying every way possible this way and that until I find a way that gets me no blood. Then try that way again and see if it repeatedly gives me no blood. Also, I do not stress over absolute bbs perfection and give myself a bit of leniency in these problem areas. Just get it cut down acceptably close and move on as opposed to hack away at the same mole for 5 swipes from 4 different directions because I think I see one more bit of whisker in it.

That is my approach. Perhaps it will help you, perhaps not. But if you keep at it and want to bad enough, you will find a way. If nothing else SR shave up close to obstacles and finish off with DE, Cart, electric, what ever you have to use to get over them. I would save that as a last resort, as I really think you will develop a way to get it taken care of with your SR. Heck, one guy on here talks about trimming his ears with one. If he can get a SR in his ear canal, surely you can get around a scar HAHA

I had a mole on the right side of my chin
I had it surgically removed, that fixed that for me.