What's new

how to tell if you're stropping right?

Hi everyone. I just was wondering if there is any way to tell if your razor is stropped properly, short of using it. I'm new to straight razors and stropping, and I'm concerned that I may not be doing it right, although I'm following the instructions in the newb guide as well as I can.

Here's a question that may or may not sound a little silly; when I strop my razor, which is full hollow, it sings. As in, it makes the classic 'sharp razor sound' (SSHHHHIIINK). Does that sound about right?

Thanks in advance.

A full hollow will sing a little, more sore than a 1/2 etc, but it shouldn't be too loud. Just make sure that you use no pressure. Another good tip is to practice, if you are using a hanging strop, on a table. Go slow at first to learn the muscle memory.

Alacrity59

Wanting for wisdom
A full hollow will sing a little, more sore than a 1/2 etc, but it shouldn't be too loud. Just make sure that you use no pressure. Another good tip is to practice, if you are using a hanging strop, on a table. Go slow at first to learn the muscle memory.

I'll add to this . . . I read advise like this . . . many many times. When it got down to doing it I still wanted to "make things happen" . . . so I pushed down to hear things happen. It was totally wrong to push down. The edge of a razor is a delicate thing. Just the weight of the blade will do very well . . . you may or may not hear a lot.

Mike

Thanks. I actually struggled a bit to find a place in my house- any place- where I could attach the strop to. Eventually, I attached it to the handle on the side of my bed and that worked out very well. I considered putting it on a table but I wasn't sure if having the strop supported from underneath would cause too much pressure on the blade, but I'll try it like that next time.