What's new

How did you get into shaving with a straight razor?

Ravenonrock

I shaved the pig
A few chefs I worked with were into it back in the day. It had always intrigued me, and they made it sound appealing. I purchased a Dorko in 1990 and started using it. A disaster from the start. It was probably not shave ready, but what did I know? Nothing. I kept at it for a brief time, but it wasn’t pleasant. I put that razor down and picked it up occasionally over the years, same poor results. I was inspired when I joined this forum several years ago. With the knowledge, enthusiasm and support I found here, I set myself up for success. I have been shaving daily with a straight razor for several years now (still using the Dorko) and they really give me the most comfortable quality shaves. A rough beginning, but now a pleasure to use.

In a nutshell, from 2007 to 2009 times were really tight for me. I mean rice and beans tight. I tried to slash expenses, and the Mach 3 carts had to go. I wanted to pick up a SR then, but research led me to believe that it was too expensive up front. I started wet shaving with DEs, and kept at it until 2020 when a friend traded me a SR. Been at it ever since. Oh B&B helped out too, don't get me wrong. This place fertilizes the addiction.

FWIW, for all those that say there's no money to be saved, i saved a ton of money from 2008 to 2020 by DE shaving. Spent less than $300 on a couple razors, 200 blades, 1 brush, and soap during that time. I would've spent $100 a year on Mach 3s and canned goop easily.

Long term struggle with irritation from carts.

Childhood memories of my father using a straight.

Eventually the idea of putting a sharp blade against my throat was overcome by the need to find a way of shaving that didn't leave me irritated and covered in bumps for 4 days afterwards...