What's new

Should I jump?

Hi all,

Not sure this is the correct place to post this:

I'm finally feeling ready to jump into straight razor honing but have a few questions. Mainly it's whether or not I should jump in and what kind of razor you'd recommend I acquire.

I'm a professional knife sharpener and have some awareness of straight razor honing and sharpening --read about it before and have sharpened many adjacent blades (japanese single bevel knives and tools, mandolin blades, chisels, etc).

The main reason I've waited so long to switch from a disposable razor is that I'm a gent with very low facial hair, I could grow a thin/spotty mustache in a couple weeks and a spotty beard mostly just on the tip of the chin, so I'm not sure it's totally worth it. I don't like the idea of disposable razors but I like that I can use them in or after a hot shower without shaving cream. I'd ideally like to never need shaving cream or other shaving products other than a razor and the sharpening stones I already have.

If y'all think I should get a razor, what kind should I look for? For kitchen knives I tend to prefer japanese over american/western even though they may be more delicate, I enjoy the higher quality steel and design. Japanese meaning something like hitachi steel and truly handmade, not like Shun & co. which are garbage.

Should I jump in? What razor should I get? What am I missing?

So, many of us come to razors from knives, chasing sharp, and find a whole different vortex.

Sharp is easy. Keen and comfortable is the trick and the ability to tailor a razor to your face and beard. None of the tools and knives mentioned will be put to your face and when sharpened, no thought is given to comfort, wood, meat, vegetables do not complain… Cutting hair is just one component of honing a razor.