What's new

Blade ranking in order of aggressiveness ?

Hi --

I've been using Feather blades exclusively, for many years. Mostly with an EJ89, Merkur Progress, RR Lupo Aluminum. (There have been others, but none felt as good as those three.) I have no complaints, never thought of changing blades.

I just got a Pearl Flexi. Based on my first three shaves, the Feather blades are too aggressive:

. . . With setting 1, my shave is comfortable, but leaves stubble;

. . . With setting 1.5, being very careful, there's no stubble, but my neck is irritated (not bloody).

. . . With setting 2, being very careful, my neck is _really_ irritated.

There doesn't seem to be anything wrong with the razor -- blade exposure is even and symmetrical, and so far as I can judge by eye, blade gap is constant.

So I'm left with two things to try:

(a) improve technique (which I'm working on, old dogs _can_ learn new tricks)

(b) Try different blades.

Lying around, I have these choices:

. . . Feather New Hi-Stainless

. . . Willy's Premium (Indian, arrived with the Pearl Flexi)

. . . Derby Extra

. . . Blue Bird

I thought I had some Astra blades as well, but can't find them. When I last looked, they were considered I don't think there's a source in Vancouver, BC.

. . . So, wise men, could you rank those blades in order of aggressiveness (which I _think_ is the same as "sharpness"), probably with Feather at the top ?

Thanks --

. Charles

No idea about Willy's, but I would bet money that the Derby Extra is less sharp compared to the Blue Bird. See this old thread for context:

I haven't used this razor, but I would think that going from setting 1 to 2 (out of 6 total) shouldn't give a shave so drastically different, especially since you've used Feathers so much. I'm a bit skeptical that blade choice is the only thing going on here.

I agree with this.