What's new

your thoughts on shirt/tie combos, what do you wear?

So I start a new job Monday and its a big promotion from my current job. I need to step up my work attire. I went out a bought some new shirts and ties but I still need a few more and I need to pick up some more dress pants. I am fairly new to the shirt and tie game other than solid color shirts and basic ties. I need suggestions on what colors and patterns mesh well and what color pants to wear with them. Right now I just have black and a few shades of khaki. I would love some input from the well dressed members of B&B. Thanks.

More people have been moving to thinner ties, not necessary the super-slim ones but things in the 2.5-3" wide range. There's been a lot of movement towards shirts with patterns, and with smaller collars. A lot depends on your build and how you're wearing them too (just with pants, or with a jacket).
I still love getting GQ magazine for ideas, they've got a lot of stuff on their website too that you can glance through just to get ideas for shirt/tie/outfit combos (try checking out the link below)
http://www.gq.com/style/style-manual/201204/shirts-guide-sizing-fit#slide=1

Doc4

Stumpy in cold weather
Staff member
So I start a new job Monday and its a big promotion from my current job. I need to step up my work attire. I went out a bought some new shirts and ties but I still need a few more and I need to pick up some more dress pants. I am fairly new to the shirt and tie game other than solid color shirts and basic ties. I need suggestions on what colors and patterns mesh well and what color pants to wear with them. Right now I just have black and a few shades of khaki. I would love some input from the well dressed members of B&B. Thanks.

Congratulations!!

A white dress shirt never goes out of style. And it goes with everything.

If you wear a solid-coloured shirt, be sure it's a light shade, not dark. This blue ...

proxy.php
not this one ...
2Q==