What's new

Help with newly acquired razor..

Hello,

I just received my recent purchased Straight Razor. I am a bit apprehensive about stropping it and trying it out do to a few visible things going on with the edge. I’m completely new to this so maybe I’m overreacting a bit. There appears to be a couple of tiny nicks on the edge of the blade. I don’t want to put this on a strop if it’s going to damage my strop. I took some pics, and hopefully you can see what I’m talking about. Should I go ahead and strop it? Or do I need to have it honed? I don’t own a hone yet so it may be kind of a lost cause. Thanks.
proxy.php
proxy.php
proxy.php
proxy.php
proxy.php
proxy.php

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Your razor should be honed again before stropping. I would not strop it like that.

Thanks for the info. I was kind of thinking the same thing but I’m very new. I don’t own a hone so I guess I would have to send it off for work and as I only paid $20 for it may not be worth it. I’m a bit bummed, I thought it was going to just need stropped and then ready to go. Another thought is maybe getting a hone since I do like my SR experiences so far. I understand honing and stropping has a huge learning curve. How much is a good beginner hone?

Where are you located? You might find someone nearby that can assist.
As for cheap beginner hone, King has a combo 1k / 6K. The 1K can be used to remove the ding and set a clean bevel, and the 6K would give you an 2-micron edge. After that you could use CrOx green paste (5 to 10$ on amazon) on a strop and tune your edge to 1/2 micron. I have not tried film, but you can find plenty of info on that in the honing section of the site. It is said to be even a cheaper option.

Definitely should have that one honed. Look up Doc226, he’s a member here. His edges are better than any I’ve ever tried.

Best wishes,

Matt

Where are you located? You might find someone nearby that can assist.