What's new

Found my Grandpa's straight razor.

My mom called me the other night and said she had found a razor I might want to have. This razor belonged to my Grandfather and I remember him standing in the kitchen shaving with it. I would like to clean it up and try to use it, however, I do not have any idea where to start or what to do. I have searched the threads and have not found anything that makes any sense to a newbie such as myself. The razor appears to be in pretty good shape besides some cosmetic issues. Being that this is sort of a family heirloom I am terrified I might mess something up so I am asking for some help. I am new to wetshaving and have never used a straight razor, but, would like to give it a try and what better way than my Grandpas old razor.

TIA

full

full

full

full

Last edited by a moderator:
I can't blame you for not wanting to accidently mess up your grandfather's straight razor, Eric. Probably the best thing to do is to send it out to get restored, or at least that is what I would suggest.

By the way, she's a real beauty. :thumbup1:

From your pictures it appears the razor is in excellent condition. Just send it out to be honed properly and pick up a strop and you are set.

If you feel the razor needs some restoration you have two choices. Do it yourself or send it to someone who is known for doing good restorations.
http://ruprazor.com/store/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=12&Itemid=36
Click the link above and email him about restoring the razor. I hear he does quite good work.

If you do it yourself I suggest you start by going here and reading Bill Ellis's blog. I also strongly recommend getting his DVD on razor restoration and the safety jigg he sells. I picked up one and restored an old C-Mon, it's a big help in holding the blade.

Good luck, shaving with my Granddaddies razor would be a real thrill.

That is a very nice razor and I am sure it is very special to you.