What's new

Car Audio Explained (FAQ for upgrading what you have)

I figured since I got some PMs from my posts in a car-stereo related thread, that I might as well just start up a thread explaining everything one will need to know to install a car stereo.

OK some background....I have been installing car stereos for poeple since I was 14 years old (I'm 27 now), from a simple tape deck and speakers, to large 3000w+ systems. Nothing has changed so far as installation and basic concepts, which is all most will need to upgrade/replace a stock system, so here we go:

1) find out what electrical system you car has:

Most cars are negative ground (the car chassis goes to the - terminal of the battery). This is important, since some older cars are positive ground. You cannot easily install a radio in a positive ground system. How you do this can be done in two ways

1a) buy a radio for positive ground vehicle (pricey)

1b) buy a regular negative ground radio, and make a custom mounting that will isolate the radio chassi (also negative ground) from the positive grounded panels of the car. You will also have to wire the + terminal to the sheetmetal nearby, and the - terminal to the ground wire found connected to the old radio.

2) make sure your speakers are NOT grounded to the chassis:

This is found on some older cars as well. If you have this, you will have to run new speaker wires to each speaker location if you plan on running a modern radio. This will avoid any risk of damaging the amplifier in the new unit.

3) Radio sizes/types:

You have the obsolete knob type radios:

these types of radios have two movable knobs on each side of a protruded radio face. These are found in cassette/8track/radio variants only....some of the later models had CD-changer control (Kenwood for one). There are two sizings of this style radio, one of them having a wider center "nose" than the other. measure this part of your dash trim before shopping to make sure your purchase will fit.