What's new

Tabc Original Cream disappointment

I'm fairly new to traditional wetshaving (since August), and since I live in Germany I have been on the look out for the ever popular Tabac products.

Now I think I tend to prefer soaps and strangely enough I haven't found it near my home (guess I need to extend my search), any way, yesterday I was browsing the shaving shelves at my local Rossman and saw that the Tabac Original Cream was on offer, so said OK lets give it a try.

This morning I soaked my badger brush while I shower, then added a small dab of cream on my usual shaving bowl and tried to get the lather... no fluffy goodness... I added a bit more... no luck... maybe some water... Nope... How about A LOT MORE??? Close but no cigar. Less water? More swirls?... no and no, flat as an English pancake.

I usually get a descent lather with my 0,80€ Palmolive Cream and the same setup/routine, so why not now?

I did manage to shave well enough and was more than pleased with the smell, but really missed the fluffy lather I get with my soaps.

I Cold Water Shave BTW, but it has not been a problem before.

Can any one offer some guidance? Where did I go wrong?

Last edited:
I can't guess. I've never used a bowl with it, nor with Palmolove. I used it my "usual" shave cream way, a daub on a couple of fingers rubbed into my well-wetted & washed beard, then stirred around on my face with a brush, and it's soon ready. My only complaint is that when you don't use it up rapidly enough, it starts separating out.

While tabac cream is not that great, you shouldn't have any problem getting a lather.
Something is wrong with your cream.