What's new

Opinions on Solingen "First Class"

Hello everyone!.

I am new to this forum and to straight razor shaving and after being a lurker for a few days I must say two things:

1.- It is one of the finest and smoothest forums I have come across in the net. :thumbup:

2.- I really regret not having found you before!. :c17:

I wished I could have found you before and asked before buying and NOT after I have done so.

Well, said that I would like to know your opinion on the following straight razor:

http://cgi.ebay.es/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tToStoreCat&refwidgettype=cross_promot_widget

After receiving the razor it did not looked to me -Top quality- neither -professional- as the seller states.

I am new to straight razor saving, but I am a long time aficionado to watchmaking, and in my opinion and once in my hands it has very bad finishing and many small defects, so not such a -top quality- item.

I think I have learn Solingen is NOT synonym of quality.

Thank you for your opinions.
Ro

Sorry to hear about this. You always have to be wary of new razors on ebay, because so many of them are made in Pakistan and misleadingly marked in order to confuse the buyer. You're not the first member to spring for a bad razor before finding this forum. Modern genuine Solingen razors have the brand on the shank. There were some no-name Solingens back in the straight razor heyday because several of the Solingen firms made small runs for hardware stores and barber shops etc, but that really isn't the case anymore. As far as I know, the only Solingen firm left is Dovo, who also makes razors for other brands (C-Mon, Fromm, and possibly Zwilling Friodurs). There's also a guy named Heribert Wacker that's making razors in his shop under a variety of names (Wacker, Jungmeister, and recently Dorko).

Is it just the razor that is bad, or the strop too? I've got a Streich-Reimen paddle strop that seems fine, so hopefully yours is a real one and not a fake.