What's new

What should be my first brush?

Hello everyone, I've been lurking for a while but I think it's time to get involved and I signed up. Here is the obligatory brush questionnaire to get me started:

1. What existing brushes do I already own.
None. I'm a complete newbie to wet shaving and would like to get my first brush.

2. Soap or creams.
I don't use soap or creams... yet. Up until now I've been taking my mach3 (5 blade) into the shower, cranking up the heat, and shaving directly under the water stream without any shaving cream. The couple times I messed with shaving cream in a can ended up with a less smooth shave. With that said, I've been reading everyone's experiences with a real lather and I'm interested in giving it a try. I have my eye on some Tabac soap and I just recently impulse purchased some l'Occitane cream to jump start the wet-shaving attempt.

3. What you want from your next brush?
My next brush will be my first brush so I'm looking for an entry level brush that I can learn the ropes with. It should also be decent enough that I won't be disappointed down the road and have to go out and upgrade again. If I do upgrade later on, I would like it to be a decision based on luxury rather than necessity.

4. Brush aesthetics.
I don't know the pros or cons of the various materials, but I am a huge fan of the way Brazilian rosewood looks. I've also liked some of the solid black and horn styles I've seen. For a little while I was thinking I might build my own brush and came up with this design and the actual size paper mache prototype. Since I have never held a a real brush in my hand before I have no idea whether that shape is any good or not, but I think it looks nice.

5. Budget.
I thought $50 might be a good budget but it is entirely artificial. I am hoping you guys might tell me what is reasonable for an intro brush. I'm not looking for the brush to end all brushes. Lets aim for a good bang-for-your-buck type brush.

6. Size.