What's new

suits redux

Does anyone have any experience with Lands End suits? I haven't been impressed with the ones I've seen; the fabric seemed very coarse. I'm wondering about those compared to the Jos A Bank trios that have been recommended in another thread. FWIW, I'm a manager of financial planning and analysis for a Dow 30 company. I need suits that travel well since I'm usually in Europe one week per month. Thanks for any insights you may have.

I don't own any Bank or Lands End suits. However, fo the money, it might be worth a trip up the road to Boston to get a suit at Filene's basement (original, not chain). You can get great name suits for similar prices.

As for travelling, I can offer some bits of advice:

1. Don't get a superfine material or a summer-weight. A heaver weight or winter-weight suit will wrinkle less. A poly blend is your best bet to prevent wrinkles, but the potential that someone might notice you and judge you on it is too great of a risk.

2. Don't sweat the wrinkles or travelling. The best choice is to get there a day early, go to the hotel concierge, and say "Can you have my suit steamed, please." Problem solved. A lot of hotels in Europe will also have trouser presses in the room, so take advantage.

Does anyone have any experience with Lands End suits? I haven't been impressed with the ones I've seen; the fabric seemed very coarse. I'm wondering about those compared to the Jos A Bank trios that have been recommended in another thread. FWIW, I'm a manager of financial planning and analysis for a Dow 30 company. I need suits that travel well since I'm usually in Europe one week per month. Thanks for any insights you may have.

About two years ago, I bought one of their $200 suits. This is kind of strange: I really like the suit and I get a lot of compliments on it, but I don't think I'd buy another one. I have no idea why. :confused:

Tim

Bob,