What's new

Strop has a glazed/iced surface

Luc

"To Wiki or Not To Wiki, That's The Question".
Staff member
That would be my Kanayama strop...

2 days ago I realized that I had a problem when the leather didn't drag at all... I didn't change anything in my routine.

I've been using my Kanayama 30000 for ~3 months now on a daily basis. I usually strop 1 razor per day, sometimes, 2 or 3 if I refresh the edge on 2 or 3 of them...

The usual routine consists of warming the leather with the palm of my hand for 15-20 seconds. I then strop and the leather has a lot of drag, comparable to latigo.

For the past 2 days, I do the same and it feels like sliding the edge on ice. I have zero drag on the leather which I find strange, it happened overnight. So, I remembered that I'm supposed to take a clean shirt, I need to wet it, twist it until it's damp and do a one pass/motion over the leather to clean it. Repeat as necessary. I tried that a dozen time. It's a tiny bit better but I still don't have any drag. I'm a bit afraid that I might slip and cut the strop while stropping. I was thinking that someone else who have the same strop probably had this type of issue... Any suggestions?

I am sorry to hear that you are having trouble. Did you try contacting Jim? He may know something that might help..

Luc

Staff member
Yes, he will check if we can do something else, I have nothing to complain about on that side. I did a few damp passes and it's a bit better but not back to what it was... Yet...

In the suggestions I've found on the net so far, there was, using a super high grit (>2000) to do a quick sand on the strop or use a hone. This will leave scratches. I don't mind but if I can avoid them, I will, that's my last resort.

There's applying a leather conditioner. That would be my next step if I don't get anything back from the damp clothe.

I'll do this slowly and wait for some more input before I do anything.