What's new

Restoring Partial Broken Horn?

I have a pre-Sheafworks W. Greaves, which puts the razor at before 1823. These are quite uncommon and I wish to preserve it as is. The problem is that the razor has beautiful ORIGINAL nearly 200 year old dark honey horn scales - they are magnificent and I do not want to replace them with anything. My problems is is that, on one side near the pivot pin, the horn is cracked in a jagged pattern and the piece is missing, so there is nothing to "glue" back. I want to preserve what is there, but I also wish to stabilize the razor to protect against greater damage.

I was wondering if there is a way to "graft" on another small piece of horn and then dye it to come close to the original, or perhaps use epoxy to create the missing area, sand it down and color it. I have never done this before so I am open to all advice.

I am including photos below. The scales and razor are MUCH more beautiful in person - the artificial light washes it out.

proxy.php
proxy.php
proxy.php

proxy.php

proxy.php

6Ke3VPTtg-iHRgn6YStsmf_BXF9cEKWT3nxI1TOgMo4

Great looking blade.
Instead of trying to fix that area with epoxy, why not just make a new side out of horn.
While it's not original, neither is epoxy and considering it's at the pivot hole stability could be a problem. I would sand and polish the good side to get a true color. Then do your best to match up the horn color. If done well most will not be able to see the difference and will be ready for another 100 yrs of service.

Here is a pic of a Ka-Bar I did.
one side original the other side black horn.

luvmysuper

My elbows leak
Staff member
I salute your effort to maintain the original.
If it were I, I would graft on a piece of acrylic, using epoxy as the connecting material.
I personally would not worry about matching too much, as the intent is to call attention to the original material.
Too close a match makes no differentiation between the two.