What's new

My Thinest scales.

Had some free time this weekend, so I decided to rescale a couple of razors I had sitting around with trashed scales.

These were mostly prototypes to see how sleek and thin I could get the scales. One is average, however one I went a bit extreme, I was doubtful on it working as I was making them, however they turned out better than my wildest imagination. It took about 20 minutes "fine tuning" the peen's to get them exactly centered (Especially the extreme Utica), but they're both bang on center and close perfect.

It's my first attempt, so they're not perfect, however the images are zoomed in very close, to the imperfections are amplified a lot, they look really great IRL.

The razors are a 5/8 Utica Wembley and a 9/16 Torrey Mayfair:

proxy.php

proxy.php

proxy.php

The Torrey scales, not overly thin but nice and sleek. I've put a penny in the shot for scale. The spacer is ebony.

proxy.php

Excuse the pitting :/ Still a real nice razor otherwise.

proxy.php

The Utica. Again a penny to give scale. The zebrawood wedge is tapered slightly, but hard to see its so thin at the tip of the scales.

proxy.php

A penny wouldn't fit, so here's a dime, its even too big to squeeze in there.

proxy.php

Its a very hallow ground blade, so it fits nicely in there with plenty of room. Centered perfectly. Will age and warping affect this? It very may... only time will tell. Am I crazy? Probably. But this is just an experiment :tongue_sm

proxy.php

Nice job!

What kind of wood is it?

As long as the wood was thoroughly dried & they aren't exposed to extreme condition, I think they'll be fine & hold up well!

THIN = WIN!

Vintage scales are about this thick usually.... more custom scales guys need to work on thinning out their custom scale thickness because when you do, it really pays off. I applaud you! well done! :D

Thanks everyone for the kind comments! It makes the extra time it took to get these done worth it!

Nice job!