Just got my first DE... Parker 96R

Discussion in 'Shave Clinic & Newbie Check-In' started by Smokeface, Dec 29, 2009.

1. My wife surprised me this X-mas with a Parker 96R. I have never used a DE before, but now I am hooked! I can't believe I made it this long with the cartridge models, I was missing out.

The store she bought it at recommended Feather blades, so she got me a pack. I have been shaving every day since, and (knock on wood) haven't nicked myself yet.

I was a little scared going into it, but found that I picked up the angle pretty quick, and was able to do a decent job on the first shave.

So today I got a cheap brush and several soaps to try out. Does anyone have any recommendations on shaving creams?

And I have been doing great with Feather blades, should I stick to what works? Or is there a better blade out there? I do not have a thick beard, if that has anything to do with it....

It's great to find a website like this one, and I look forward to bugging all of you with plenty of questions... :001_cool:

2. Welcome to B&B.

I would recommend Taylor of Old Bond Street or Proraso/C.O. Bigelow.

3. Congrats!!!!!!! Now you need to expand your collection!!!

4. Congrats and welcome!

5. May I ask what soaps you are trying out? I am looking for some myself.

6. You might have hit a Grand Slam on the feathers:001_smile Hard to beat them for sharpness. As far as creams that is kind of a personal choice. My fav's are Aqua di parma, along with Penhaligon's Blenheim Bouquet and there is always the stand by Proraso. That is just my two cents i am sure you will get lots of suggestions shortly here.
    Good luck in your search.