What's new

Genco

Discovered Genco/ Geneva cutlery company straight razors, this week, from here Good and Bad Straight Razor Brands , and here Don't buy Genco razors

I’m getting deeper in the rabbit hole…

I have a master barber, and an easy on the eyes incoming

What do you know about these? Collectable? shave quality? Steel? Any info? Links? More models? cost range in your area?

Here is a quick list of models/ names stamped on tang
Henry’s XX

Henry’s X
Master barber
Master barber Jr.
Fluid steel

Expert
Easy aces
Dear ma ?
Heavy
Master cutler
Vanadium

Army Navy
President
Old Dutch
De Roma

Gold Bug
Cavalier
Athoffs’s Gold seal
Alwin

Last edited:
Here is my firs one. Handle is loud green and very flimsy and flexible (celluloid), blade does hit scales when closing. I kinda like the loud green, it loud in a good way, wish they stayed stiffer. No work done yet ( this season weekend’s project. I am going to get these Re- scaled. Has a bit of a smile, slight nick on edge. I feel like this in great shape given age. Found at local vintage / antique store. I paid $23 out the door ( I think it was a fair price?). My first piece of American steel!
BA2D2323-00B9-4096-A55C-5D0A814F4569.jpeg

Genco razors are wonderful finds. The steel is very hard. They hold their edge very well. They were an "everyman's" razor. Here's my granddad's Genco de Roma 4/8s. Everything you see is original. This little lady drives like a high-end sports car.

DSC_3112 - Genco de Roma.jpg

Genco razors are wonderful finds. The steel is very hard. They hold their edge very well. They were an "everyman's" razor. Here's my granddad's Genco de Roma 4/8s. Everything you see is original. This little lady drives like a high-end sports car.

View attachment 935390
that is a looker!!!
and that is a functional family heirloom make it even better!!!

Just got a pre merger model 7 today on the recommendation from old man @steveclarkus .