What's new

First DIY strop

I've been straight shaving for a month now but struggling along with a SSO (strop shaped object) in place of an actual strop. Reliable cheap options in Australia are difficult to find but @Slash McCoy gave me some pointers to DIY one of my own. So I got in the parts from Birdsall Leather here in NSW: a 120cm length of 3" veg tanned belt leather, some 1/4" key posts and 50cm D-rings. The leather looks quite nice:

PXL_20230601_234334865~2.jpg

I've never worked with leather before. The only tool I got was a 3/16" wad punch for the key posts. Here goes... Cutting a notch for the D-rings:

PXL_20230602_015705011.jpg

Wet the end and fold it over:

PXL_20230602_020258811.jpg

After a lot of hammering and swearing, key posts in at one end:

PXL_20230602_020321930.jpg

After doing the other end and giving it a spritz and a rub down with a big jam jar, here's the finished result. Stropping length is 18" between the hardware:

PXL_20230602_031138251~2.jpg

It's pretty flat, no cupping, and the edge needs nothing done to it at all:

PXL_20230602_031235284.jpg

I'd call this a success. Total cost $45 AUD and I still have the parts left over to make another one. Looking forward to trying it out!

Slash McCoy

I freehand dog rockets
Well done. If you destroy it all you really destroy is the leather, which you can replace easily enough. Your hardware will last approximately 27,833 years. Give or take a few hundred thousand.

The fold-over construction style works but I do think separate bolster pieces that fold over the D rings and sandwich the body is superior, and a little simpler to renew the body leather. But, my first DIY strop was of foldover construction and I still have it and use it.