What's new

Breaking In a New Strop

Hello. I have purchased my first strop, the "Premium IV English Bridle" strop (3-inch) from Straight Razor Designs. I picked this because the description states that it is "treated specifically to enhance its draw" and "it needs no other treatment." Nonetheless, the strop feels stiff and I am having some difficulty ensuring that the entire blade edge is contacting the leather. There seems to be very little draw. I'm sure it will break in with time, but I am curious whether helping the process along is a good idea, especially since I'm new at this. I have read about the many options: hand rubbing; neatsfoot oil; dressing (such as Fromm); rubbing with a glass bottle; mink oil; leather conditioner; shaving soap lather (such as Williams); and I'm sure the list goes on. I would like to increase the draw so that I can use it more easily, being new at this. I've nicked it enough already.

I need some practical advice. I appreciate your help. Thank you.

I'm not familiar with this strop but I would start with just hand rubbing. Before you strop your razor you can run your hand up and down the strop which will warm the leather and increase the suppleness. However being so new you should explain your technique to us as this is typically the problem when we were new.

I'm not familiar with this strop but I would start with just hand rubbing. Before you strop your razor you can run your hand up and down the strop which will warm the leather and increase the suppleness. However being so new you should explain your technique to us as this is typically the problem when we were new.