What's new

Cheap fountain pen paper

I'm a student and I do quite a bit of math writing. I like fountain pens, because they don't suck. I typically used to buy simple copy paper by the brick....a lot of it ends up in the trash can. This worked well with my old finer pointed cheap pens but I got a couple desk pens at a garage sale with wider nibs and the paper really bleeds and looks ugly. I want to find a paper that writes nicely with fountain pens, but is not a fancy letter-writing paper or anything impressive, because I want it to be cheap. Any suggestions?

My friend suggests waiting a few more months of inflation and using fresh dollar bills.

The eco friendly line of papers made of sugarcane waste (bagasse) sold at staples are said to work well, but I though I read that there were changes to the paper recently, and it's not as good as it used to be.

I've found that my fountain pens write fantastically on the paper we use for our color copier at work. It is more expensive than the super-cheap copy paper, but it's not bad and available by the ream.

nemo

Lunatic Fringe
Staff member
The eco friendly line of papers made of sugarcane waste (bagasse) sold at staples are said to work well, but I though I read that there were changes to the paper recently, and it's not as good as it used to be.

I went to restock my supply of this wonderful paper at my local Staples and was told they're not stocking it due to low sales volume.

I feel your pain with the nice pen/lousy paper combo.

I find that "thesis bond" worked very well for me. 25% rag content 20 or 24lb paper. It's the rag content that accounts for non-blotchiness.

For lots of little note-taking and informal use, I like Rhodia Tablets. You can find them over at www.pendemonium.com. Pendemonium always shows at the LA Fountain Pen Show and I've bought a lot from them over the years. Nice people and good service.