What's new

DSLR's - Need Help

I can see there are a lot of pro-digital-cameramen on B&B. I've currently got a point&shoot waterproof camera [Pentax Optio w10] bought primarily for use while kayaking. It also works well out of the water (SOTD pics :biggrin:), but I'd like to get a high end DSLR or similar camera. Keep in mind that I would consider myself a true novice when it comes to photography.

I have no idea where to start.

I'm soliciting recommendations on what to buy and what I'll need for a total kit to be able to take awesome outdoor photos, get creative with things, and of course: take my SOTD and other shave-related pics.

Hi Joe,

I'm not a pro, or semi pro photographer...just so you know...but...

It might be helpful to know the following:

How much money would you like to spend? Once you know how much you want to spend, look at an a camera that is above your budget. You may not wind up buying it, but it will afford you the ability to make a comparison between the two models. This rule of thumb has come in very handy for me when I make my purchases.

What type of photography do you envision yourself using a DSLR for? For example, if you were on a farm, would you take pictures of the picket fence, the sunset, the animals, barn, flowers, or the people on the farm? Miscellaneous items perhaps?

Continuing with that same example, with a DSLR if you only bring one lens, that's your fault. What if it's not the right lens for the job? Murphy's law: The lens you need will be the one you left at home. Now, with a P/S camera not your fault because you only have one lens.

I've heard it said that first find out what lens system has the lenses you want to buy and go from there.

There are those who believe that lenses are everything. After all, that's what is taking the picture.

Do you want to be lugging around a tripod everywhere you go?