What's new

New convert

Hi All, total newb here. I'm 53 and after many years decided a few days ago that my Bic Twin Select just wasn't cutting it (pun intended). I couldn't get a close enough shave, particularly on my upper lip. Randomly, I type into google "how to get a closer shave" and after a few clicks found Badgerandblade. It became very clear, very fast, that I had a lot to learn, but I was fascinated. To make a long story shorter, my 34C showed up yesterday and this morning I had the first DE shave of my life using the included blade. I didn't have any soap, so made do with some Gillette canned shaving cream. I had no idea what I was doing, but I didn't cut myself, and had a shave which was closer and smoother than anything I can remember in a long time. I'm hooked. Looking for some newbie advice on hard soaps, brushes, and blades, and maybe some suggestions on a second razor, something which I could compare to 34C and everyone should have in their collection. Thank you your help and thank you for having me!

Welcome! Never used a 34c myself but from what I understand, it’s an excellent choice. I’d actually stick with that for a little while to get your technique down.

I’m sure you’ll get a lot of suggestions for your next razor when you’re ready. IMHO, you’ll have a hard time doing better than a Henson. If you like vintage, a Gillette Tech is a good place to start.

I respectfully disagree on the canned cream. Literally every soap I’ve tried is better than the canned stuff I was using before. I’d go to Italian Barber and pick a soap that sounds appealing and a synthetic brush. It won’t set you back too much, and you really can’t go wrong.

I hope you’ll let us know what you decide. Most importantly, enjoy!!