What's new

Tools of the trade

I am just getting into straight razor shaving and have bought a few straights and have sent one away for restore to another member from here (he has sent me pics and it looks AMAZING) but I am a carpenter and like to work with my hands. I want to try a restore myself but need some guidance on what tools I need to do it properly. now i did say I like to work with my hands BUT I have A.D.D and get bored very easily so handing sanding is not an option lol..

It's boring, but hand sand a few first. Lets you see what you have to do without a power tool that can kill a razor in milliseconds.

Else maybe look at a tumbler, you just chuck them in there and it polishes them up (but does nothing for pitting)

While power tools aren't necessary, they do make the job so much easier. If you're a carpenter you might have most of the things you need already.

Tools in my shop are:

For the steel:

- Variable speed tabletop buffer with various sanding and polishing compounds.

For the scales:

- Scroll saw
- Table top belt sander
- Drill press
- Various hand grit sandpaper.

Since you're a carpenter, you may already own a Fein MultiMaster... if you do, the sanding attachments are the single best thing I've used for razor restorations, makes sanding them quick, easy and safe for both you and the blade.
(I've noticed that there are a couple cheaper versions available from Dremel and Rockwell now too)
Note: the attachment shown isn't the one that works best; they have a couple that have a nice radius that sits well in the belly of the blade and accepts regular sand paper cut to fit.

Last edited:
I'm cleaning one up at the moment - I haven't got to the sanding stage but a dremel with a few buffing wheels (I've literally burnt through several in an hour) and some polishing/buffing paste seems to work well. I'll still need to do some hand sanding but it has cleaned a LOT of the crap off the blade

Kentos

B&B's Dr. Doolittle.
Staff member