What's new

Zoom lens?

simon1

Self Ignored by Vista
What's a decent zoom lens for a Nikon D3400? I have the 18-55 that came with the kit, but it's not doing what I want. I was looking at a 70 something to 300. Shots would be about 100-200 yards away. I don't want to spend more on the lens than the camera cost.

Any suggestions?

Hi Mike. Not a Nikon shooter, so I have no experience with the lenses, but here are a few things to consider. You should be able to stay fairly cheap to reasonable if you don't need a huge aperture or image stabilization. 70-300 is a pretty popular range for full frame, but you have a crop sensor body. You may be better served to get a 55-200, multiply by 1.5 and you have a 82.5 -300. The 70-300 would be 105-450 much more reach, but pretty tele on the short end you may really miss that gap you're skipping. Unless you really want the extra reach or plan to go full frame eventually I would go with the smaller lens.

Another option would be to get a Tamron 18-200, then you can go from wide to tele without changing the lens. I have no experience with this lens, but I use a panasonic 14-140 on my micro 4/3 camera (28-280 full frame equivalent) and I love the range and rarely change lenses except when I add extension tubes for macro.

simon1

Self Ignored by Vista
Hi Mike. Not a Nikon shooter, so I have no experience with the lenses, but here are a few things to consider. You should be able to stay fairly cheap to reasonable if you don't need a huge aperture or image stabilization. 70-300 is a pretty popular range for full frame, but you have a crop sensor body. You may be better served to get a 55-200, multiply by 1.5 and you have a 82.5 -300. The 70-300 would be 105-450 much more reach, but pretty tele on the short end you may really miss that gap you're skipping. Unless you really want the extra reach or plan to go full frame eventually I would go with the smaller lens.

Ummm...what's a crop sensor body, and why would you multiply by 1.5?