What's new

YSL's La Nuit De L'Homme

Anyone else try this? The Basenotes reviews are really terrible, but there is just something in it that I like. Of course, I'm a complete cologne newbie (I've had lots of cologne gifts and never used them) so maybe it's catering to newbies. But then, you'd think they would make the damned stuff cheaper. But I was wondering if anyone more experienced could offer any recommendations of other colognes with that sugary vanilla spiciness.

Thanks!

Raymond

Of the previously mentioned scents, Armani Attitude and Rochas Man are the only 2 I have personally tried. I didnt care for the Rochas Man, but Armani attitude was good while it lasted.

Another one you may like is Dunhill Desire (in the red bottle). It is pretty sweet and heavy on the vanilla. I have a bottle that I keep in the car for those times I forgot to put somethign on before I left the house, or when I finish a round of golf and have to go somewhere before I get a chance to get to the house. Irish shower for the win! lol

Hey, thanks a lot! That will list is exactly what I'm looking for. Now, I have direction!

Thanks again,

Raymond

Funny you mention that. I've had 3 bottles of the Dunhill Desire, and never caught snap to the fact that it is a flask design until I just read your post. lol

Now that I think about it, the bottle is even shaped like a flask, in that it is sort of curved, as well as the flask like lid.

OK, here's an update.

Tom Ford: Tobacco Vanille - heavy tobacco. Heavy vanille. All around heavy cigar shop smell that stays almost cloyingly amber sweet all day.

l'artisan: havana vanille - very vanilla, kinda boozy. almost like a vanilla rum. very sweet and sticky smelling. ok, but kinda straight forward.

C&S Cuba - spicey but not much sweetness going on.

I'll keep updating as I come across more. And more recommendations are welcome.

Thanks!

Raymond