What's new

Would you recommend this razor?

All, I'm pretty new to this, but you guys have me convinced to try straight razors. I really like the looks of this one, and it's in my price range. Would you suggest this for me?

Also, it would appear the scales are ivory. Would you agree?

A93A6235_1000x.jpg

Maybe I'll hold off and learn a bit more. Probably better than choosing just by looks. Thanks.

It's a nice razor. Would I pay $150 for it? Umm, maybe. That implies that I wouldn't use it but rather stick it in a box to look at it, and maybe resell it when the price goes up.

Thank you for your insight guys. I will probably wait until one of the members here is selling something I like.

Chan Eil Whiskers

Fumbling about.
Good vintage straight razors are available on eBay auctions for bargain prices as well as for serious money. If you are willing to learn a bit about how to buy a good razor and if you're willing to spend some time looking you can find bargains.

1-27-19.Honed.Boker.Kukri.640.JPG

$10 - $20 + shipping of $3- $5, but you have to put in some time and do some homework.

It's very satisfying to find a nice vintage razor. Sometimes they have to be cleaned and/or polished. Sometimes they need to be honed.

The razors in the photo cost me $13.50 and $12.50 plus shipping.

2-6-19.Boots.GD.Manchurian.640.JPG

This razor, used this morning, cost me a bit under twenty bucks.

I am not saying there's anything wrong with buying much more expensive (and maybe much nicer) vintage razors, brand new razors, and custom made razors that cost a house payment. All I'm saying is you have options.

I'm not the best bargain hunter I know of either.

Happy shaves,

Jim