What's new

Worst shave ever (SOH)

Now, there's a moral to this story. So stay with me for a couple of minutes.

I had just come home from work. My wife and our two boys had just gone to visit their grandpa (my father, and the patriarch in the clan), so I decided I wanted to relax and have an easy meal before having a shower and a shave before getting the rest of today's work done (I'm a teacher, so I usually do some lesson planning or grading of papers in the evenings)

I sat down, had a couple of sandwiches, mindlessly watched some TV, and suddenly I woke up two hours later. I had napped. Involuntarily. For two hours. I was suddenly in a bit of a hurry. I put my silvertip brush in a bowl of hot water, had a quick shower, dabbed my face with a towel, applied a little shaving oil, and lathered up from my Tabac puck. The lather was fine, the skin felt supple. Everything felt alright.

Now, a few months ago I jumped on an Ebay opportunity and bought 100 Feather blades from a vendor in Hong Kong. It was dirt cheap, and shipping was free. Of course, I had a slight suspicion that the blades could be counterfeit, but I thought: "What's the worst thing that can happen? That they're too dull?" Boy, I did not see this coming.

You might start getting the idea, or what?

Well, I unwrapped one of these blades, loaded it in my HD Tech, a combination that has been proven to be very successful when in a bit of a hurry and there's very little time to enjoy the moment.

I started the first pass. WTG, of course. I immediately felt that something wasn't perfect. The shave felt a little rough. Then I started on the thin, rather sensitive skin on the neck. I felt a sting. "A bit too clumsy, I thought". Three small veepers were visible.

I have a sort of a goatee and a stache, which require some precision shaping around the edges. I started with my chin, and removing the hairs went ok, until I suddenly felt a sharp sting. "There must have been an uneven spot", I thought.