What's new

Wilkinson sword blade spots

I ordered a whole barber box 100ct of Wilkinson blades. The box came sealed and the black tucks inside were all sealed too. The date on the carton is from 2017. Since this is my first time buying wilkinson blades I was wondering if this is how there suppose to look. I opened up 3 tucks and they all looked the same with brown spots that didnt wipe off. The glue would come off but the brown mark's didnt. I didnt use any of them. Could it be rust or is this just how they look?

Attachments

• 20190129_200346.jpg
    20190129_200346.jpg
    675.3 KB · Views: 80
I bought the same 100 count box of Wilkinson blades, with black plastic tucks of 5 blades each. Mine are dated 2017 as well. I have gone through approximately 10 - 15 blades (on my 3rd tuck). I have not seen any of the brown spots that you have encountered, every blade has been clean and pristine.

I would be suspicious and would worry about contamination and potential irritation or infection.

Yeah. That's why I didnt even use them. Juat strange cause they were all sealed. Literally every blade in the 3 tucks I opened look like this with the spots. So I just tossed them out. I still have the unopened tucks

There was wax. But this brown stuff was different from the wax. Also the brown mark's didnt even scrub off with a old tooth brush

There was wax. But this brown stuff was different from the wax. Also the brown mark's didnt even scrub off with a old tooth brush
Ok, I see. I have seen this issue posted about before but I can't recall the conclusion. It seems a shame, but I wouldn't use them if you have doubts.

Thanks. I won't use them. Was seeing if this was common thing or not.
Common enough. You may want to do a search in the forums for that old post to see what they said. I had a couple of spots on mine last year, but they were small and I used them anyway.

FarmerTan

"Self appointed king of Arkoland"