What's new

Why so much lather?

Help me understand, why would one want a super thick coating of lather on your face when using a double-edged safety razor with a closed comb? Doesn't the guard sweep off any extra lather before the blade gets to it?

Of course I do want a very slick coating of soap/cream to let the blade glide and to protect my skin, but why would one need 1/4 inch or more? I'm pretty new to this hobby and have been curious, thanks for helping me understand.

Help me understand, why would one want a super thick coating of lather on your face when using a double-edged safety razor with a closed comb? Doesn't the guard sweep off any extra lather before the blade gets to it?

Of course I do want a very slick coating of soap/cream to let the blade glide and to protect my skin, but why would one need 1/4 inch or more? I'm pretty new to this hobby and have been curious, thanks for helping me understand.
You don't want really to shave with that! I think it's for the camera (SOTD syndrome). You want a thin layer that will let you shave without irritation.

SOTD pics tend to exaggerate.

Unless you shave slowly or in a really dry climate, a thinner lather will not dry out before the pass is done. A thinner lather helps in detailing around the edges. My goatee and mustache like nice clean detailing.

If in prepping your stubble, you let the lather soak in for a few minutes, a thicker lather will stay nice and wet. Myself, I just lather up thinly and wash it right off a few times before applying my also thin shaving lather.

For me, the volume follows the hydration. As I put in more water into the lather, it becomes more flexible and slick, building up the volume. Also, it's satisfying to see a well-hydrated, slick lather on the face, allowing the blade to glide easily.