What's new

Why my first fountain pen doesn’t write?

I’ve bought my first fountain pen and install a universal cartridge. The ink doesn’t get into the nib. I double check if the cartridge was punctured, and it was.

I kept the pen vertical overnight and nothing. I flushed the nib with some liquid soap and nothing.

Am I doing something wrong? It’s my first fountain pen and I need some enlightening :)

Attachments

• 1E658994-7016-47C9-BD7C-9540D0C329F9.jpeg
    1E658994-7016-47C9-BD7C-9540D0C329F9.jpeg
    145.2 KB · Views: 30
  • 2EB070CF-2B7A-4D28-A98E-33AE66E7FCD8.jpeg
    2EB070CF-2B7A-4D28-A98E-33AE66E7FCD8.jpeg
    232.6 KB · Views: 28
  • C63AE83C-590F-4B07-B305-DE6E9A5BB515.jpeg
    C63AE83C-590F-4B07-B305-DE6E9A5BB515.jpeg
    204.1 KB · Views: 30

nemo

Lunatic Fringe
Staff member
You can squeeze the cartridge until a drop shows coming out or gently shake it (over the sink). Once the flow starts it should be OK.

I have no experience with that brand, hopefully it will work for you @hugosf

Apply pressure on the nib, like a good stretch and then shake violently, apply pressure again. This works best if you are wearing a clean white shirt and shaking over new carpet lol. My wife won’t let me use my fountain pens inside anymore for some reason. I hope you get it working and congrats on your first pen sir!

You can squeeze the cartridge until a drop shows coming out or gently shake it (over the sink). Once the flow starts it should be OK.
I’ve tried shake gently (and hard :). And I can’t squeeze the cartridge.

I think there is no slit between the tines. I can’t check the nib-feed alignment because the nib is hooded.

It’s a 3.00 pen I bought to experience fountain pens. I probably bought a defective pen :( Maybe is my first and last fountain pen 😂

Attachments

• BFE1DC56-1C05-4C71-B478-977A8D1A9EF8.jpeg
    BFE1DC56-1C05-4C71-B478-977A8D1A9EF8.jpeg
    176.8 KB · Views: 12
No slit? That won't have any capillary action. :huh: