What's new

Why don't they just used uncoated blades?

I don’t think the coating on the blades wears completely ‘off’. I think it wears ‘down’ and still creates a buffer into places in the steel that are irregular. My theory is that it is that excess coating that we dislike on initial shaves but the coating that sticks past that does help.
I'm no expert, & I didn't sleep at a Holiday Inn last night either. But I think the above explanation makes sense to me, & that's how I've reasoned it out in my mind. The coating needs to wear down a bit to smooth the blade out. The coating is still there, as that's what gives some of the blades such great longevity.

I like uncoated blades in the right razor but they often produce irritation. As geneaut said, the coating doesn't necessarily wear off; it just wears down.

A Gillette Platinum can give me 7 shaves out of which five are excellent and two are decent. A Gillette 365 can give me 3 shaves, two of which are excellent, at best, but more often than not I get three shaves with irritation.

A better alternative to coated blades, for me, is a Treet Durasharp. It is only coated with PTFE (which will wear off) but doesn't tend to irritate as much as uncoated stainless.

Blades without a coat are cold.
Season 3 Lol GIF by The Office

My fav blades are Astra SP and Gillette Platinum Light Blue (Swedes). TBH, I do not notice a difference between the first and subsequent few shaves.

I don’t think the coating on the blades wears completely ‘off’. I think it wears ‘down’ and still creates a buffer into places in the steel that are irregular. My theory is that it is that excess coating that we dislike on initial shaves but the coating that sticks past that does help.