What's new

Why are Western straights so darned long?

I'm still a newbie, admittedly, with about 50 shaves, the vast majority of them with kamisoris around 55 mm in length. The whole time, I've never wished for more length. So why are Western straights so much longer? Does every one but me have a face and neck with large planar surfaces?

I've been pondering this for a while, but what really precipitated this post was a discussion of a used Western straight, with posters pointing out damage at the heel end, and saying "that won't affect your shave." Really? Then what is it for? I use the heel of my kamisoris all the time, to shave the slope of neck hollows that's away from my hand, and in other tricky areas where I can't get the right angle with the toe.

I figure I must be missing something big. Razors weren't made that long for no reason. Max Sprecher makes a bunch of lengths, but I ordered his shortest one, 1.5", designed for fine details only, and found it just fine for shaving my entire face. I never wished for more length.

Can someone help me unravel this conundrum? My current guess is that they are that way for the convenience of barbers, but I have no confidence in this guess.

I have no real historical information. All I have is pure conjecture, but have wondered if it was not because of:

1) some evolutionary pathway that started from a general purpose knife, where a single larger knife (the single knife a person would be lucky to own) would have been longer than a Japanese kamosri so as to be more useful in a variety of situations. So people were familiar with this size of blade and would have been comfortable using it. Maybe the day of blade resharping was the same day as getting a shave or haircut back centuries ago when someone (some tribe of people) started to use this longer blade to shave and it was adopted by others.