What's new

whiskey breathing - does it have any effect?

In your experience does an opened bottle of Whiskey or Tequila breathe and significantly change in taste like an opened bottle of red wine? I have never noticed much change with Bourbon or Scotch, but I recently got a bottle of Tequila after reading the thread on Need Tequila Recommendations. Initially the Sauza Añejo tasted pretty bad, so much so that I wondered if I would ever finish it. But I recently tried it again and found it better, still not great but not as harsh as before with a better flavor.

I can't determine if the flavor actually changed, or it was my expectations that changed. Thanks.

Breathing is essentially oxidization, plus possibly some evaporation of volatiles in the liquid. I'm not an expert on Tequilas, but I have had some experience with whiskies...:rolleyes:

Whiskies that have been poured into a glass will change with resting. Some will claim that this is due to the settling of 'bottle shock' as they were poured, and let a glass sit for 10-20 minutes before enjoying then make sure that the liquid is disturbed as little as possible while drinking (i.e. no swirling the glass.) Others claim this is just 'development' of the whisky as the above processes occur (oxidization and evaporation.) Either, or both, will definitely cause some subtle changes in the taste of the whisky, sometimes better, sometimes worse. Definitely a case of YMMV here.

As far as the stuff in the bottle, as long as the cap is not left open for an extended period of time the whisky in the bottle should not change much, if at all, in between drawing off drams. Once the level in the bottle drops below 1/3 to 1/4, however, it will start to oxidize. I'm not so picky myself, but I know several experts with much more knowledge and experience than myself who insist that once the level drops to this point, they make a point of finishing off the bottle within a couple of weeks.