What's new

Which vintage pen to get - this noob needs inspiration!

Gents, as a lurker in these parts I kindly ask your advice on which vintage pen to look for.

I have been using fountain pens almost exclusively for almost 30 years now, but always pens bought new.

My pen backstory:
I especially love thin writing stub nibs as they really give that vintage look in your note taking. For the last almost 15 years my one and only pen was a nice Mont Blanc Meisterstuck where I replaced the M nib after 10 years with a stub nib (now that was an expensive move, phew!).

This nib however ran into problems with the flow and I grew tired of it. I even had it refurbished here in DK but it still does not really flow well.

About 6 months ago I therefore got 2 TWSBI’s and a Kaweco AL Sport, all 3 with stub nibs. Not least the Kaweco is wonderful as a front pocket carrier and I really like the way it writes, still quite thin and with great flow. The 1.1 stub also is perfect.

So now the tricky part: What to get/look for when I look for a vintage that ideally would write the same? I am initially thinking a 1940s-60s model as I like the designs of those times, and it must be a solid everyday worker that writes safely and wet; I hate it when the ink stops mid-sentence!

Any proposals and pics would be greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot!

nemo

Lunatic Fringe
Staff member
You could probably find a sweet coral red (actually kinda orange) Penol button-filler where you are.
Penol - www.tema-penne.dk
Penol Pens and Pencils
I've always wanted one that looks a lot like a Parker Duofold, not sure if they're tough enough to use daily though.
Probably, but I've never had one to test.

Or ... I really like and use 1950s Pelikans, they're robust enough for everyday use and I'm always carrying mine to work. The 400 is easy enough to get for around 100 euro. Good writers and lots of character in the vintage gold nibs.