What's new

Which to buy?

Hello everyone. I'm fairly new to DE shaving and want to find a good, but economical brush. I currently have a cheap Van Der Hagen badger hair brush, that seems to lose hairs every time I shave. At the time, I wanted to test the waters, so I didn't do a lot of research into brushes. That was my mistake.

Now, I want to try my hand in the synthetic brush field. I have done some research (still probably not enough) and have sort of narrowed my scope between a few types of brushes/knots. These are the ones I was looking at:

PAA Amber Aerolite 24mm Stygian Synth Hybrid Brush
AP Shave Comp. 24MM SynBad w/ Elegant Emerald Handle
Maggard Razors Blue Swirl Two Piece Resin Handle Timberwolf Synthetic Shaving Brush, 24mm

I've heard that the Synbad knot is quite soft with a decent backbone, while the Timberwolf is very soft, but lacks backbone. I don't know much about the Stygian Synth, except that it's the same or very similar to the Rockwell Grey from their other line. However, I've heard lots of praise for the Peregrino which has the Rockwell Grey knot. I've heard the Cashmere knot is also very soft, but without much backbone and the Tuxedo isn't as soft, but has a decent backbone.

Unfortunately, I'm not sure what I'd prefer, softer vs a little firmer, so I figure these may be a little of the middle ground. I know I do not want to keep losing brush hairs every time I shave. I would prefer for it to produce a nice lather; I use a scuttle/bowl with Proraso Shave Cream. I do not have what would be considered a very course or thick beard if I were to grow it out, but I do shave my head. I hope this helps provide a little more detail to help know what I'm looking for