What's new

Where to Trim For Handlebars

I'm about 2 months into my project to convert the tightly trimmed goatee and mustache into a full blown set of handlebars. I generally trimmed weekly before but have now taken to no trimming on the mustache portion and only using the Wahl on the goatee portion.

Up until now, I just wax the mustache to the sides and let the longer tails run down the side of my mouth. Today I was working at home, so I started playing with twisting the bars. So now i can see what is underneath the mustache on the sides of my mouth.

On the top, I shave down to the crack between my cheeks and my upper lip.

So my question is if I only had the mustache, where should I trim it vertically, the edge of my mouth?

I need to know how high go in trimming the goatee, but not harming the mustache growing.

Hi Bernie ,

I shave mine at the end of my mouth , down and sideways , and been letting it all grow . Its to the bottom of my lower lip , in my mouth , this happened before and I trimmed it , just in the middle , but I'm going to persevere . I need to just start taking a few crumbs off the ends of the Handle bars . My whiskers on the stache when I shave like that eventually curl up naturally , I've used wax once in a couple or three weeks , just to get the middle out of my mouth so I could go out to dinner . Straws are your friend !

Once it gets so long I may trim a little to just get the guys that have suddenly decided to turn down , or out , instead of up . But Beard oil at night before bed , or occasionally in the morning , or afternoon , just two drops worked in to the skin and combed through does it . Its soft . ... I may check under it for the little hairs close to the lip , not regular Moustache whiskers , and trim them .

Beard Baron has a video on How to trim a Moustache ...

Last edited by a moderator: