What's new

Where to Buy Merkur HD

Hello,

I am a beginner and have been fascinated and interested in DE shaving for a couple months now and am down to my last cartridge on my Quatro (I use the single razor on the back of the cartridge cause I feel like it shaves better than the 4 blades together). Anyways.. I have spent many hours reading up on DE razors and have decided to invest in a Merkur HD but am not sure where to buy it for the cheapest price.

I have seen many Merkur razors on Amazon but am not sure which one I'm supposed to buy. They seem to be named differently on Amazon. I read the review thread saying that the Merkur HD is around $30 but I couldn't find any on Amazon that listed the razor as "HD" and at that price. Could anyone help me find the cheapest Merkur HD razor to buy?

Thanks in advance!

Have you considered buying vintage razor instead? They can be had for less than the Merkurs and are generally considered to give better shaves. Look in the B&B Mall forum here and check some out.

Shaving Mall - Buy/Sell/Trade

Yes, I looked into the Gillette Super Speed '40s but after some searching I decided to get something new. I am a bit worried about getting a bad one off Ebay.

On other note, what kind of razor sampler pack should I get? They seem to be more expensive than just buying one type or razor. If there was one razor for a beginner what would it be? I don't have much hair but what I have is very thick and coarse.

J

Jarmo P

Have you considered buying vintage razor instead? They can be had for less than the Merkurs and are generally considered to give better shaves. Look in the B&B Mall forum here and check some out.
Guido, I don't know what your adversion against Merkur razors is?
There has been many polls where Gilletes are considered cooler in the vintage value, but Merkurs giving better shave. Like this one:
http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showthread.php?t=40601&highlight=poll+merkur+gillette