What's new

When I was a young journalist, I got a big Gillette scoop...

proxy.php

I was going through some old boxes in my attic yesterday, and found the article that I've scanned and posted with this post (the magazine cover image is above; the actual article, as a PDF, is linked below.) In light of my recent conversion to DE shaving, maybe some of you will be interested in the story behind it...

I was 27, it was 1989, and I was at my first serious job, working as a reporter in New York at a magazine covering the advertising and marketing industry. Gillette was my beat, and the company was about to announce a new, "secret" razor. The pressure to figure out what the company was doing before the official announcement was intense; I was in the chase with the business writers at the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and all the other magazines in town that covered the company.

And I got the scoop by heading down to the US patent office and tediously going through all of Gillette's recent patents, then comparing them to what issue we thought Gillette's product might address, which - we believed - was the increasing marketshare being garnered by the Good News product, which had commoditized the company's business. I confirmed the info by calling the Gillette designer listed on the patents, who told me I was right. He probably shouldn't have, and he probably got in trouble (more on that in a second.)

Though we didn't get the name of the product - it would be called "Sensor" - I pretty much nailed the design, with the spring-loaded cartridges and the improvements (debatable!) on the Atra/Trac II designs.