What's new

What's your photography background?

My first camera was a hand me down Brownie Holiday which I used at the '64 NY world's fair. A year or so later graduated to a discontinued Brownie Auto 27 and started developing my own film. Then came an Argus C3, a Nikkormat and a couple of used Leicas with old glass in the '70s.

Along the way I got a film degree. I worked in TV news for a couple of years. Went on to work in film and video production for a non-profit and have been there ever since.

I still shoot some film but mostly digital for my personal still work.

Here is my progression based on the cameras I have used and still own.

35mm Fuji PS Gift from dad
35mm Nikon N50 Gift from parents
2x3 Galvin monorail (Used) -First purchased camera just before marriage then Wanted bigger format
4x5 Busch Pressman D (Used)- Love that camera But not enough control
4x5 Sinar F (well used). Loved the system didn't love the weight and difficulty in carrying into the field
4x5 Prinzdorf (Used)- Won it in a photographic article writing competition
Kiev 88 Modified by Hartblei (New and the last K88 modified by original Hartblei)
5X7 Kodak 2D (about 100 years old) Fell in love with old view cameras
8x10 Kodak 2d-The 5x7 needed a younger bigger buddy
Digital Nikon d80 Bought it just cuz
4x5 Cambo SC (Used) my dad gave me his LF system to add to my collection after the stroke made using it impossible
Digital Nikon D7100 because My D80 died

As you can see I have a number of cameras and use most of them. I am sure there were others in the progression but these define who I am as a photographer. I grew up around cameras and just sort of migrated to it. Dad was and still is quite the enabler. I took a couple photo courses in college in order to use the darkrooms. Declared myself a pro and quickly gave myself an ulcer because I am a perfectionist. Nothing would go out unless it was absolutely perfect. Doc said quit, so I did. I started to really enjoy it again after that.