What's new

What's the most cheapskate thing you had a friend or relative do?

At work, when we have pot luck dinners, I swear, the one's that make the most $ are the first one's to sign up for utensils and paper towels.

Why? The office pays for these already.

This past Christmas dinner, one of them walked in, grabbed an unopened roll of paper towels and sat it on the table. One of that lady's ask what that was for, his response, "that's was my contribution."

Of course, he then proceeded to eat more than anyone.

Another time, again at work, we had a wholesaler bring in lunch. It was announced over the intercom.

The guy across from me bolted out of his office and ran down to the kitchen.

Educated, white collar jobs and wealthy...they still are on the lookout for a free meal.

So, what is B&B's take on cheapskates?

Military here....I was out for dinner with a Captain, I am a Non Commissioned Officer. She had placed her order and the server was taking my order. I see this look of amazement on his face. I look at the Captain and she is pouring an envelope of Kool-aid into her class of water. She asks for another glass of water and a class of ice. He leaves. I look at her and tell that is the cheapest thing I have ever seen any body do. I told her I had raised two daughters and never been as embarassed. It gets better. We received a 20% military discount. When it came time to leave, she tipped on the discounted price of the meal, rather than the full price. I said something to her and she made some poor excuse. I told her if she cannot afford a flavored beverage and to leave a decent tip on what the meal would have cost she should just stay home and not go out. I never went anywhere with her again, and after word of this behavior got out.....well neither did anyone else. I still cannot get over it.